Letterman on Retirement

“Here’s what I have learned.  If you retire to spend more time with your family, check with your family first.”

FullSizeRender-721

With tongue only partially in cheek, Dave is still dispensing his unique brand of observation and wit.  He could pass for a learned Rebbe, a Sufi scholar, or a slightly crabby hermit these days, though I see him more as symbolic of those of our generation who’ve torn up the blueprint for retirement.

These days I find myself drawn to a Tallis that’s a bit different than the one in which I was formerly enveloped.  Raymond Tallis to be precise, a retired physician and clinical neuroscientist who has been writing full-time for the past eleven years.  Despite the fact that I am still working now as many hours in the practice I owned for 32 years as I did when I paid the bills, people wish we well in “retirement” because they’ve heard that we sold the practice.  Though my circumstances may have changed, I am far from retired in any conventional sense of the word.  I confess however to a bit of Tallis envy.

Tallis

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letterman on Retirement

  1. Gary & Linda Williams says:

    I am glad to see that you rose to the occasion with another pun!

Leave a Reply

