Sacks Redux

fullsizerender-353

And while we’re on the subject of Oliver Sacks … my desk still houses an artsy book from 2009 titled “The City Out My Window: 63 Views On New York“, featuring Oliver’s vignette on the view of New York through his apartment window:

“The interlocking symmetries of the buildings across the way, the old brownstones with their stoops, the ginkgo trees which line the street – all this I find solid and calming.  But looking down at this busy corner of Thirteenth Street and Greenwich Avenue, I also see and hear the constant movement and life of New York City – people hurrying, carrying bags, idly chatting or smoking, walking their dogs, parking their cars.  Impossibly large trucks making the tight corner, noisy fire engines screaming by, the A train rumbling beneath the pavement.  My typewriter desk sits in front of the window, so this is the view that faces me whenever I sit down to write.  I think I need the ever-moving flow of the city life as a counterpoint to my own thinking and writing.”

fullsizerender-354

 

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

