Life as the 9th Inning Nears

If you’re a regular reader of this blog it will come as no surprise that I like Fay Vincent’s metaphor for baseball as life that appears in today’s Wall Street Journal.  Francis Thomas Vincent Jr. is 14 years my senior but I identify with his sentiments.  In fact, being spared the fury of the widowmaker has given me some extra innings to play in and I intend to make the best use of them.  The WSJ also has a nice article today featuring what Spring Training does for the local economy in Port St. Lucie, particularly when the Mets are contenders.

My heart of course belongs to the Phillies, which may be one reason why I fell prey to the widowmaker.  I do plan however to be in my usual Bright House Field Seat in Clearwater on Sunday, taking in the latest round of hopefuls as the Phils play a pre-exhibition exhibition game against the University of Tampa.  Looking forward to seeing the prospects who will prove again why hope Springs eternal.

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life as the 9th Inning Nears

  1. doctuhdon says:

    I’m very excited about the many talented youngsters that we will be seeing playing for the Phillies this year and in future years. And I am very happy that you escaped the wrath of the widow maker. Live long and prosper !

Leave a Reply

