Hey Isn’t For Horses?

hey

Blame or give credit, depending on how you look at it, to Jerry Seinfeld for this generation of straight hey students.  That’s right, Seinfeld is the origin of the current “hey” colloquialism becoming part of the vernacular. It started in the days of “So hey” … and then the salutation of “Hey Kramer …”

And now, apparently, hey is here to stay.  But I still can’t bring myself to use it, anymore than I’d expect Stallone’s “Yo” to be used in salutation, as in “Yo Adrian”.  Any bets on how long it will take before press conferences begin with “Hey, Governor …”  And if that’s appropriate, why not just go right for “Yo Governor” to gain his or her attention?  Language just ain’t what it used to be.  (Or is it yoos to be?)

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hey Isn’t For Horses?

  1. Marc Rachmuth says:

    I guess I’m not seeing the connection between “Hey” and “Jerry Seinfeld”. I grew up, in Logan in the ’50s (I think that was a bit before Jerry Seinfeld), and “Hey” was used exactly the way it was used in “Seinfeld” 40 years later. So, I’m missing something in the blog post.

    • That’s precisely the point, Marc. When I grew up in Logan in the ’50s, and used “Hey”, I was corrected in the house and in the classroom with “Hay is for horses”. (I suppose Mr. Ed had both hey and hay covered) But in this day and age, almost anything goes linguistically and hey appears to be perfectly acceptable – even in written communication. Call me a cultural curmudgeon …

  2. Dr. Gary Williams says:

    Considering your birthplace, Yo Adrian would be much more fitting. Gary

Leave a Reply

