Give That Nerve A Hand

nerves of the hand

Wow.  The things we take for granted until they go wrong.  I’m typing this now with extreme effort, mostly with my right hand, because the fingers of my left hand have lost their way.  Radial nerve palsy, they tell me, apparently out of the blue.  Idiopathic.  There have been misadventures to get used to, from the inconvenient to the bizarre, as my hands have lost their familiar symmetry.

Snapple

Snapple Flop

They call this odd failure of the hand staying upright on pronation a wrist drop, but it’s more like the wrist’s ungraceful version of the Fosbury Flop.  Raised past the neutral position, the hand loses its strength and flops inward making it impossible to grasp or pour.  Varying opinions on the need to “rule out” why I simply awakened with this one morning last week, and what to do to try and accelerate its return to form.  I’m not feeling sorry for myself, mind you.  Okay, maybe just a little bit …

 

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give That Nerve A Hand

  1. Dr. Gary Williams says:

    Len, I don’t have the fortitude of the prior generation and some of our peers. Hard not to feel at least a little sorry for yourself. I hope that this gets better as miraculously as it occurred. Also, I haven’t asked about Miriam lately, especially after her replacement, replacement. Gary

  2. Thanks, Gary. I hear you! We’re both cranking along … thanks.

  3. doctuhdon says:

    So sorry to hear about this, Len. I assume that you had an EMG to rule out focal entrapment of the radial nerve. Several years ago, Eileen had an idiopathic brachial plexopathy which took a few months to resolve. I hope that your recovery is much quicker.

Leave a Reply

