The Sand House

shellsEveryone needs a place they can go where a sense of calm descends as soon as you enter.  It might be figurative, but in this instance I mean it literally.  It’s a sensual experience, part smell part visual, and it’s hard to resist buying something each time we go in though the last thing we need is more shore tchotchkes in the condo.  That place for me is The Sand House, on Ocean Avenue in Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey.  Today I went in on my walk back from Perks for no reason other than I could.  They do pride themselves in turning over the inventory, so invariably there will be something new to ponder each time in.  Today it felt therapeutic not to buy anything, but if I did succumb it would be the new Beach Rules placard.  After all, how could you not succumb to a set of corny rules that includes avoiding pier pressure?  Starbucks and bookstores still top my list, but The Sand House is right up there with them.  Deep breath, eyes open wide … there now, can’t you almost feel like you’re at the Shore?

Sand House Rules

 

Sand House Interior

 

Sand House Sign

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

