“Trust Me, I’m Fine”

Nile

Here is a picturesque view of The Nile River.  The Philadelphia Phillies have about as much chance of making it to the post-season this year as I do of sailing on the Nile.  That’s because their former ace, Roy Halladay, is in denial.  Although I’m back in New Jersey for a few days, I checked out today’s game vs. the Tigers, and it was an ugly 10-6 loss.  The big problem of course is not only that “Doc” was tagged for 7 runs in under 3 innings, but that his velocity and tempo were off.  And although Doc inisted he was fine, just lethargic, the fact is these were the Tigers’ scrubs who were teeing off on him.

Tigers

You heard it here first.  Doc’s velocity and tempo are off because he’s worn down.  And throwing more isn’t the cure.  I don’t know what the solution is, but I fear we’re looking at a Pedro Martinez or Roy Oswalt situation, the difference being these two guys faced the music sooner than Doc.  They didn’t insiste they were fine, rather they recognized that their tires had too little tread left to pitch an entire season.

“Trust Me, I’m Fine”.  Sound familiar?  It’s exactly what Doc said last March, after he got rocked almost to the day against the Minnesota Twins, giving up 5 runs in less than 3 innings.  Despite scouts pointing out that his velocity was done even more than usual, and that he didn’t look sharp, Halladay insisted that observers were wrong.  Today Doc insisted that he has lethargy and not soreness or pain, whereas last year he had soreness is Spring Training.  I suspect Doc will persist in denial until it becomes painfully obvious that he is wearing down.  Then again, I would love nothing more than for Doc to prove me wrong.

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

