You Never Know Who’ll You’ll See in Starbucks

Starbucks beansOf course it was this morning that I would forget to bring my trusty iPhone to Starbucks, getting out unusually early when the sun was just beginning to spread its rays on the Eastern side of the Causeway.  Strolling up to the counter at 6:25 I encountered Bridget for the first time this season, and that’s newsworthy enough for me.  Phenomenally she remembered that my order is a blueberry scone warmed up – though I’ve been changing it up a bit lately.  What I didn’t anticipate is that as Bridget went on to the next customer, a vaguely familiar voice behind me said: “I’ll have two Grande Red Eyes”.  I turned to walk from the counter toward the cinnamon and nutmeg shakers and sure enough there were two guys behind me, one of whom I recognized as  a rather well-known Phillies ballplayer.  Oddly enough, the fellow I recognized immediately was not wearing the sweatshirt hoody.  He was standing there with a half-knowing smile, looking trim in his black T-shirt and slicked-back jet black hair, pretty much the way he appears in this picture – that is, if he were simply in a black T-Shirt and jeans.

Chase

It felt a bit awkward to say anything to Chase at 6:30 in the morning, so instead I played it cool, ironically the way I imagined Chase was going to play it.  I’m sure when he went outside he said to his hooded friend: “Hey, that was Len Press the Blogger, wasn’t it?  I thought I recognized the moustache, but I didn’t want to bother him this early.”

There were only a handful of people in the store, and they all ignored Chase.  I’m not too sure anyone else recognized him in his civilian clothing.  After he left, I asked Bridget if she had any idea that he is a famous player, and she said: “He looked like a ballplayer, but I really don’t go to many games”.  No problem, Bridget.  It’s more impressive that you recognized me, and my warmed blueberry scone.  The heck with Chase Utley; I’ve got my own knees to worry about.

(But seriously, Chase, best wishes for a healthy and productive season.)

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Never Know Who’ll You’ll See in Starbucks

  1. Gail says:

    Love it!

  2. doctuhdon says:

    Hey Lenny press how Awesome to get to meet Chase Utley up close and personal at Starbucks.
    Next time I come down to spring-training you better Tag me along with you so I can get to meet the baseball celebrities. Is Chase gonna have a good year?

Leave a Reply

