Cleanliness is Next to Godliness

I’m not entirely certain where the aphorism Cleanliness is Next to Godliness comes from, but I’ve seen it linked to both Rabbi Pinchas ben Yair and Francis Bacon (the juxtaposition of Rabbi and Bacon notwithstanding).  It certainly sounds like something that a clergy would derive, likely to show up in Proverbial form in many cultures, and at the very least makes for a nice derivation in a Rosh Hashanah sermon.

cleanliness_is_next_to_godlinessI’m thinking of buying this T-shirt for the irresponsible party at Starbucks who thought that it was a good idea to hang bag of trash from the middle of the counter where patrons line up for  beverage and food.  Knowing full well that I sound curmudgeonly when I complain about this stuff, and trying to avoid the “ahh, the youth today” rants of that would mark me as a codger who doesn’t get it, perhaps you’d have a different view of what I saw this morning.  Perhaps the employee couldn’t empathize with what it looked like.  I hope it isn’t a sign that standards have changed.

Trash 1

 

Trash 2

 

Trash 3

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleanliness is Next to Godliness

  1. Gail says:

    Truly gross. What are they thinking? That’s not the Clearwater Starbucks is it? Since its the first day of pitchers and catchers I thought I’d start keeping track of your blog again! Steve told me you and Miriam are going early, we’ll be there the 23rd to the 26th and then the usual. I’m ready! Looking forward to catching up with you both.

Leave a Reply

