Lost and Found

I lost track of Avi Terry, a wonderful African-American wrestling mate in college who was raised in Newark and whose mother had a burning bush vision that guided her toward the God of the Jews, or so I recall.  Needless to say when I first met Avi I had exotic visions of him being from one of the 10 Lost Tribes.  You could read the cognitive dissonance on the face of congregants in my hometown when I invited Avi home for a weekend, and it warmed my heart to read of the comfort level he found on Old Broadway.

African-American rolls off the tongue these days, as does Judeo-Christian, but what about Judeo-Nigerian?  I plead ignorance to history here, and to what has been cast as an  Afro-Judaic Odyssey of the Igbo Jews of Nigeria.  It appears to be a miracle of the Internet, of sorts.  Theologic teleologists might posit this as one of the reasons why God facilitated creation of the Internet.

Their story of re-emergence is fascinating.

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lost and Found

  1. doctuhdon says:

    fascinating. Have you seen the documentary at a theatre or on DVD ? How solid is the genealogy & family history data for this unique story ? DAN WOHLGELERNTER

  2. doctuhdon says:

    pardon me: how solid “are” the …..

  3. Seems to be somewhat controversial, as I gather from the links. You’ll have to do further research.

  4. Daniel Wohlgelernter says:

    A ok !

  5. Laya says:

    But do they have a Chabad there?…?..

Leave a Reply

