The Conjunction of Jupiter and Venus

Looking out on the sky tonight I noticed what I thought were simply two bright stars.  Good thing my son Elliot was around, because when I pointed out the two stars he advised me that they looked like stars, but were really Jupiter and Venus.  He was more up on the news than I about the striking conjunction and visibility of these two planets this month, which only occurs about once every 20 years.  You can get caught up on the news here.  We’re on the Gulf Coast of Florida on Clearwater Beach, which provides the best view of the conjunction.  Here are three shots of the two planets, which become easily  visible to the naked eye within a half hour after sunset, then brilliantly so as the night wears on.  The photos here don’t do it justice – if you’ve got a Western view of the sky though, be sure to take a look!

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

