Starbucked in Clearwater 2012

Back at one of my favorite Starbucks sites, no Bridget Dahl in sight, but one of the baristas recognizes me from previous years and I get the big “thought we’d be seeing you again this time of year” welcome backs.  Some of my favorite regulars are still there.

There’s retired Mike, always in white shorts, white hat, and white sneaks, with white dentures to match, holding court briefly inside, but ultimately perched outside.

Mike’s outdoor vantage point always reminded me of the song “Standing on the Corner Watching All The Girls Go By”, charted by the Four Lads in 1956, though my favorite version is the cover done by Dean Martin.

 

About Leonard J. Press, O.D., FAAO, FCOVD

Developmental Optometry is my passion as well as occupation. Blogging allows me to share thoughts in a unique visual style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starbucked in Clearwater 2012

  1. GAIL COOPER says:

    It is a great song, & yes Dean Martin’s version is classic, but it’s from a 1956 original broadway cast recording of what musical?

  2. Len Press says:

    The Most Happy Fella — a title most people bestow on me. 😉

Leave a Reply

